Parliament adjourned to Tuesday, 20th April 2021 at 2:00 p.m.

Hon. Sam Basil, MP

Sam Basil

Bulolo Open

United Labour Party (UL)

Parliamentary Services

Current: Re-elected to the 10th National Parliament as the member for Bulolo Open Electorate seat as a Member of the PANGU Party during the 2017 General Elections. Party Leader of the United Labour Party, 3rd term in this Parliament.

Past: First Elected to the 8th National Parliament for the Bulolo Open Electorate in the 2007 General Elections as a People's Progress Party candidate. Resigned from the People's Progress Party effective from 10/01/2011 and subsequently joined the Papua New Guinea Party. Elected Deputy Opposition Leader on 11/5/2011. Appointed member of Parliamentary Referral Committee on Lands and Environment, Permanent Parliamentary Committee on Culture and Tourism, Special Committee on Gas and Energy-Deputy Chairman, Special Committee on HIV/AIDS Advocacy, Permanent Committee on Public Accounts, Permanent Committee on National Parliament, Special Committee on Asian Owned and Operated Businesses in PNG between August 2007 and August 2011. Appointed Minister for National Planning on the 5/8/2011 in the O'Neill-Namah cabinet.Re-elected to the 9th National Parliament for the Bulolo Open Electorate in the 2012 General Elections as a Papua New Guinea Party candidate. Appointed Deputy Opposition Leader following formation of government in August 2012. Resigned membership with Papua New Guinea Party to join and voted Leader of Pangu Pati in August 2014. Appointed Minister for Communications, Information Technology and Energy in the O'Neill-Abel Government from August 2017-April 2019, appointed Minister for Finance on 17/04/19 after the resignation of Mr James Marape as the Minister for Finance. Appointed Minister for National Planning & Monitoring on 13/05/2019 after a minor cabinet reshuffle. Appointed Minister for Treasury in the Marape-Steven led Government and sworn in on 07/06/19-26/08/2019. Appointed Minister for Treasury in the Marape-Steven led Government, sworn in on 07/06/19, then changed Ministerial portfolio to National Planning & Monitoring on 27/08/19. Appointed Deputy Prime Minister following a cabinet reshuffle on 01/10/2020. Served as Deputy Prime Minister from 01/10/2020-16/11/2020 and as Minister for National Planning and Monitoring from 27/08/2019-16/11/2020.


Contact Details

Parliament Office
C/-National Parliament, PO Parliament House, WAIGANI, NCD 131, Papua New Guinea

Fax: +675 3277480