2012-13-14-15

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

MINUTE S OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

No. 110

Tuesday, 2 June 2015

The Parliament met at ten o'clock a.m., pursuant to adjournment. The Speaker (Mr Theo Zurenuoc) took the Chair.

Absence of quorum: The Speaker reported to the Parliament that a quorum of Members was not present and announced that he would again take the Chair at the ringing of the Bells.

Suspension of sitting: At five minutes past ten o'clock a.m., the Speaker left the Chair. Resumption of sitting: At half- past ten o'clock a.m., the Speaker resumed the Chair, and a quorum of Members being present and in accordance with Standing Order 34, invited Mr Ati Wobiro (Governor for Western) to say Prayers.

2 **QUESTIONS:** Questions without notice were asked.

No. 110 – 2 June 2015

AUDITOR-GENERAL OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA – REPORT OF THE AUDITOR-GENERAL ON THE ACCOUNTS OF PROVNCIAL AND LOCAL LEVEL GOVERNMENTS AND ASSOCIATED ENTITIES, PART 3, 2010 – PAPER – MOTION TO TAKE NOTE OF PAPER – REFERENCE TO PERMANENT PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS: The Speaker, pursuant to statute, presented the following paper:

Constitution -

Auditor-General of Papua New Guinea – Report 2010 on the accounts of Provincial and Local-Level Governments and associated entities – Part 3, 2010.

Mr Peter Isoaimo moved – That the Parliament take note of the paper and that the report be referred to the Permanent Parliamentary Committee on Public Accounts.

Question – put and passed.

4 AUDITOR-GENERAL OF PAPUA NEW GUINEA – REPORT OF THE AUDITOR-GENERAL ON THE ACCOUNTS OF PROVINCIAL AND LOCAL-LEVEL GOVERNMENTS AND ASSOCIATED ENTITIES, PART 3, 2011-2013 - PAPER - MOTION TO TAKE NOTE OF PAPER - REFERENCE TO PERMANENT PARLIAMENTARY COMMITTEE ON PUBLIC ACCOUNTS: The Speaker, pursuant to statute, presented the following paper:

Constitution -

Auditor-General of Papua New Guinea – Report on the accounts of Provincial and Local-Level Governments and associated entities – Part 3, 2011 - 2013.

Mr Peter Isoaimo moved – That the Parliament take note of the paper and that the report be referred to the Permanent Parliamentary Committee on Public Accounts.

Question – put and passed.

5 CONSTITUTIONAL LAW REFORM COMMISSION AND DEPARTMENT OF PROVINCIAL AND LOCAL-LEVEL GOVERNMENT AFFAIRS – FINAL REPORTS (VOLUME 1 AND 2) ON THE INQUIRY INTO THE ORGANIC LAW ON PROVINCIAL GOVERNMENTS AND LOCAL-LEVEL GOVERNMENTS – PAPERS AND STATEMENT – MOTION TO TAKE NOTE OF PAPERS: Mr Peter O'Neill (Prime Minister), pursuant to statute, presented the following papers: –

Constitutional and Law Reform Commission Act -

Constitutional and Law Reform Commission and the Department of Provincial and Local Government Affairs –

(a) Final Report on the Inquiry into the Organic Law on Provincial Governments and Local-level Governments, Volume 1; and

No. 110 – 2 June 2015 503

(b) Final Report – Provincial Consultation Report on the Inquiry into the Organic Law on Provincial and Local-level Governments, Volume 2,

and, by leave, made a statement in connection with the papers.

Mr Don Polye, (Leader of Opposition), moved – That the Parliament take note of the papers.

Debate ensued.

Debate adjourned (Mr James Marape – Leader of Government Business) and the resumption of debate made an order of the day for a subsequent sitting.

ADJOURNMENT: Mr James Marape (Leader of Government Business) moved – That 6 the Parliament do now adjourn.

Ouestion – put and passed.

And then the Parliament at twenty minutes past two o'clock p.m. adjourned until tomorrow at ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: All Members were present (at sometime during the sitting),

except:*Mr Anderson Agiru, Mr Belden Namah, Mr Ben Micah, Mr Benjamin Poponawa, Mr Bob Dadae, Mr Boka Kondra, Mr Charles Abel, Mr David Arore, Mr Davis Steven, Mr Ereman Tobaining Jnr., Mr Ezekiel Anisi, Dr Fabian Pok, Mr Francis Awesa, Mr Francis Marus, Mr Francis Potape, Mr Garry Juffa, Mr Havila Kavo, Mr Isaac Waigavara, Mr John Hickey, Mr Johnson Tuke, Mr Joseph Lelang, Ms Julie Soso Akeke, Mr Ken Fairweather, Mr Leo Dion, Mr Mehrra Minnie Kipefa, Mr Mogerema Sigo Wei, Mr Nixon Duban, Mr Paul Isikiel, Mr Philip Undialu, Mr Robert Atiyafa, Mr Ross Seymour, *Mr Steven Kamma, Mr Titus Philemon, Mr Tobias Kulang, Mr Wera Mori and Mr William Tongamp.

> KALA AUFA Acting Clerk of the National Parliament

*Sick Leave