2012-2013

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

MINUTES OF PROCEEDINGS

OF THE

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

No. 50

Tuesday, 10 September, 2013

- The Parliament met at two o'clock p.m. pursuant to the terms of the resolution of 19th July 2013.
 - Absence of quorum: The Speaker reported to the Parliament that a quorum of Members was not present and announced that he would again take the Chair at the ringing of the Bells.
 - Suspension of sitting: At two o'clock a.m., the Speaker left the Chair.
 - Resumption of sitting: At twenty five minutes past two o'clock a.m., the Speaker resumed the Chair and a quorum of Members being present and in accordance with Standing Order 34, invited Mr Kelly Naru (Governor for Morobe) to say Prayers.
- 2 ISSUE AND RETURN TO WRIT ANGORAM OPEN ELECTORATE: The Speaker (Mr Theo Zurenuoc) announced that he had received the Return to the Writ which His Excellency, the Governor-General had issued on 6 June 2013, for the byelection of a Member to serve for the Angoram Open Electorate following the death of Mr Ludwig Schulze and by the endorsement on the Writ, it was certified that Mr Salio Waipo was duly elected Member for the Angoram Open Electorate.
- 3 **DECLARATION OF LOYALTY AND DECLARATION OF OFFICE:** Mr Salio Waipo was introduced and made his Declaration of Loyalty and Declaration of Office, as required by the *Constitution*.

- BROADCASTING OF PARLIAMENTARY PROCEEDINGS STATEMENT BY THE SPEAKER: The Speaker informed the Parliament that the Permanent Parliamentary Committee on Broadcasting of Parliamentary Proceedings met today and resolved that the National Broadcasting Corporation would be allowed to broadcast live questions without notice for the duration of this meeting.
- 5 DEATHS OF FORMER MEMBERS (SIR TORE LOKOLOKO AND MR WILLIAM EICHHORN): The Speaker informed the Parliament of the deaths of the following former Members:
 - (a) Sir Tore Lokoloko on 13 March 2013. He was elected Member for Kerema Open Seat for the Second and Third House of Assembly and First National Parliament from 1968 to 1977. He was appointed Ministerial Member for Health and Deputy Spokesman for the Administrator's Executive Council from 1968 to 1972, awarded a MBE in 1975 and elected Second Governor-General of Papua New Guinea in February 1977 and awarded Grand Companion of the Order of Logohu (GCL) in September 1975; and
 - (b) Mr William Eichhorn in April 2012. He was elected Member for Angoram Open Seat for the Third House of Assembly from 1972 to 1977 and re-elected to the First and Second National Parliament from 1975 to 1982.

As a mark of respect to the memory of the deceased, all Members present stood in silence.

- 6 **QUESTIONS:** Questions without notice were asked.
- 7 ADJOURNMENT: Mr James Marape (Leader of Government Business) moved That the Parliament do now adjourn.
 Question put and passed.

And then the Parliament at half past three o'clock p.m. adjourned until tomorrow at ten o'clock a.m.

MEMBERS PRESENT: All Members were present (at some time during the sitting), except Mr Anderson Agiru, Mr Anton Yagama, Mr Benjamin Philip, Mr Bire Kimisopa, Mr Bob Dadae, Mr Byron Chan, Mr David Arore, Mr Ereman Tobaining Jnr., Mr Isaac Waigavara, Mr Hohn Hickey, Mr Johnson Tuke, Mr Kerenga Kua, Mr Kila Haoda, Mr Leo Dion, Mr Malakai Tabar, Mr Noah Kool, Mr Paul Tienstein, Mr Richard Mendani and Mr Ross Seymour.

VELA KONTVARO
Clerk of the National Parliament