2022

PAPUA NEW GUINEA

NATIONAL PARLIAMENT

NOTICE PAPER

No. 8

FRIDAY, 25 NOVEMBER 2022.

.....

Parliament meets this day at 10.00 a.m..

CONTENTS:

Government Business

Committees and their Membership

– 000 –

- SUPREME COURT AND NATIONAL COURT OF JUSTICE REPORT BY THE JUDGES ON THE WORK OF THE NATIONAL JUDICIAL SYSTEM, 2021 – PAPER – MOTION TO TAKE NOTE OF PAPER: Resumption of debate (from 11 October – Leader of Government Business, in continuation) on the motion of Mr Rainbo Paita – That the Parliament take note of the paper.
- 2 MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY – INTERVENTIONS UNDERTAKEN BY THE MINISTRY FOR INFORMATION AND COMMUNICATIONS TECHNOLOGY – MINISTERIAL STATEMENT – MOTION TO TAKE NOTE OF PAPER: Resumption of debate (from 12 October – Prime Minister and Minister for Planning, in continuation) on the motion of Mr James Marape – That the Parliament take note of the paper.

KALA AUFA Clerk of the National Parliament

Notice to which an asterisk (*) is prefixed appear for the first time.

SPEAKER

Mr Job Pomat

DEPUTY SPEAKER

AND

CHAIRMAN OF COMMITTEES

Mr Koni Iguan

ASSISTANT SPEAKERS

Mr Agena Gamai Mr Johnson Wapunai Mr Casmiro Aia Mr Kansol Harwai Kamdaru

COMMITTEES

PERMANENT

- **APPOINTMENTS:** Mr Philip Undialu (*Chairman*), Mr Tony Wouwou (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Lohia Boe Samuel, Mr Noah Kool, Mr Sasindran Muthuvel, Mr Simon Kaiwi and Mr Taboi Yoto.
- **BROADCASTING OF PARLIAMENTARY PROCEEDINGS:** Mr Speaker (*Chairman*) ex-officio Member, Mr Gordon Wesley (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Jacob Maki and Mr Kansol Kamdaru.
- **COMMUNICATIONS:** Mr Marsh Narewec (*Chairman*), Mr Sam Basil Jr (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Sasindran Muthuvel, Mr Alexander Orme, Mr Ricky Morris, Mr Ereman ToBaining Jr and Mr Simon Dumarinu.
- CONSTITUTIONAL LAWS AND ACTS AND SUBORDINATE LEGISLATIONS: Sir Peter Ipatas (Chairman), Mr Wai Rapa (Deputy Chairman) Mr Agena Gamai, Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Chris Haiveta, Mr Daniel Tindipu and Mr Simon Dumarinu.
- CULTURE AND TOURISM: Mr Charlie Benjamin (Chairman), Mr Alexander Orme (Deputy Chairman) Mr Agena Gamai, Mr Anderson Mise, Mr Ekime Gorosahu, Mr Ereman ToBaining Jr, Mr Freddie Kumai, Mr Jacob Maki, Mr Maso Hewabi, and Mr Ricky Morris. (one vacancy)

- **ECONOMIC AFFAIRS:** Ms Rufina Peter (*Chairman*), Mr Billy Joseph (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Casmiro Aia, Mr Freddie Kumai, Mr John Kaupa, Mr Lucas Dekena and Mr Saki Soloma.
- **EDUCATION:** Mr Benjamin Mul (*Chairman*), Mr Simon Kaiwi (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Johnson Wapunai, Mr Patrick Basa, Mr Peter Isoaimo, Mr Michael Marum and Mr Anderson Mise.
- **EMERGENCY:** Mr Maso Karipe (*Chairman*), Mr Marsh Narewec (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Benjamin Mul, Mr Daniel Tindipu, Mr Maino Pano, Mr Michael Marum and Mr Ramsey Pariwa.
- FOREIGN AFFAIRS AND DEFENCE: Mr Belden Namah (Chairman), Mr Taboi Yoto (Deputy Chairman), Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Chris Haiveta, Mr Gordon Wesley, Mr Tony Wouwou and Mr William Powi.
- *GENDER EQUALITY AND WOMEN'S EMPOWERMENT: Mr Powes Parkop (*Chairman*), Mr Allan Bird (*Deputy Chairman*), Ms Rufina Peter, Mr Marsh Narewec, Mr Lohia Boe Samuel, Mr Ricky Morris and Mr William Bando.
- LAW AND ORDER: Mr William Bando (Chairman), Mr Elias Kapavore (Deputy Chairman), Mr Billy Joseph, Mr David Arore, Mr Luther Wenge and Mr Robert Naguri. (one vacancy)
- **LEGISLATION:** Mr Speaker (Chairman) ex-officio Member, Mr Keith Iduhu (Deputy Chairman), Mr Lohia Boe Samuel, Mr Lucas Dekena, Mr Robert Atiyafa and Mr William Hagahuno. (one vacancy)
- NATIONAL PARLIAMENT: Mr Speaker (Chairman) ex-officio Member, Mr Michael Marum (Deputy Chairman), Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Robert Naguri and Mr Taboi Yoto.
- **PENSIONS AND RETIREMENT BENEFITS:** Mr Chris Haiveta (*Chairman*), Sir Peter Ipatas (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Luther Wenge, Mr Robert Atiyafa and Mr Sasindran Muthuvel.
- **PLANS AND ESTIMATES:** Mr Joseph Yopyyopy (*Chairman*), Mr Johnson Wapunai (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Benjamin Mul, Mr Chris Haiveta, Mr Douglas Tomuriesa, Mr Simon Kaiwi and Mr Wai Rapa.
- **PRIVATE BUSINESS:** Mr Speaker (*Chairman*), Mr Deputy Speaker (*Deputy Chairman*) ex-officio Members, Mr Allan Bird, Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Philip Undialu, Mr Taboi Yoto and Mr William Powi.
- **PRIVILEGES:** Mr Charlie Benjamin *(Chairman)*, Mr Casmiro Aia *(Deputy Chairman)*, Mr Chris Haiveta, Mr Jacob Maki and Mr Simon Dumarinu.

- **PUBLIC ACCOUNTS:** Mr Richard Masere (*Chairman*), Mr Freddie Kumai (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Benjamin Mul, Mr Billy Joseph, Mr Casmiro Aia, Mr Douglas Tomuriesa, Mr Francis Alua, Mr Jacob Maki, Mr Joseph Yopyyopy, Mr Lohia Boe Samuel, Mr Maso Karipe, Mr Sam Basil Jr and Mr Theo Pelgen. (*one vacancy*)
- *PUBLIC WORKS: Mr Ereman ToBaining Jr (Chairman), Mr Robert Naguri (Deputy Chairman), Mr Benjamin Mul, Mr Billy Joseph, Mr Daniel Tindipu, Mr David Arore, Mr Francis Siune, Mr Joseph Yopyyopy, Mr Kansol Kamdaru, Mr Maino Pano, Mr Marsh Narewec, Mr Patrick Basa, Mr Sam Basil Jr and Mr Steven Pim.
- **STANDING ORDERS:** Mr Speaker (Chairman), Mr Deputy Speaker (Deputy Chairman) ex-officio Members, Mr Allan Bird, Mr Chris Haiveta, Mr Douglas Tomuriesa, Mr Elias Kapavore, Mr Garry Juffa, Mr Luther Wenge and Mr Taboi Yoto.

SPECIAL COMMITTEE

- 2022 GENERAL ELECTION: Mr Allan Bird (Chairman), Sir Puka Temu (Deputy Chairman), Mr Charlie Benjamin, Mr Elias Kapavore, Mr Jacob Maki, Mr Keith Iduhu, Mr Robert Naguri, Mr Saki Soloma and Mr Steven Pim.
- **PUBLIC SECTOR REFORM AND SERVICE DELIVERY:** Mr Garry Juffa (*Chairman*), Mr Elias Kapavore (*Deputy Chairman*), Mr Allan Bird, Mr Marsh Narewec, Sir Peter Ipatas, Ms Rufina Peter and Mr William Powi.

(*) Appointments made on 24 November 2022.